The question, “what can vegans drink?” can be answered with “lots of options out there.” The word vegan typically refers to an individual who doesn’t eat or use animal products, e.g., meat, fish, dairy, or even honey.
A vegan diet is often considered plant-based. i.e., it consists mainly of foods that come from plants, including vegetables, fruits, and grains.
In essence, a vegan drink then is a drink that is free of animal products. So, the answer to the above question, “what can vegans drink?” can be answered as “any drink that is free of animal products.” Vegans drink substances made from animal-free products. Just water? Of course not! There are so many drink options for a vegan, and we will be exploring that.
Some individuals go vegan for health or nutrition reasons, others because they are concerned about the climate and how meat production affects it. And yet others go vegan because they believe in animal welfare.
Whatever the reason why people go vegan, know that there are many options for individuals on a vegan diet. A vegan can eat foods that are healthy and still delicious.
Oh yes! In fact, many processed products serve as vegan alternatives today. For example, we have vegan “butter” and vegan mayo (made without eggs) and non-dairy “milk” products (like almond milk, soy milk, and oat milk). We also have some products that serve as “meat substitutes,” like; tofu, tempeh, and seitan.
In the same vein, there are lots of vegan drinks out there. So, let’s talk about a walk around vegan’s spot as we answer the question, “what can vegans drink?”
1. Energy Drinks for Vegan
Energy drinks answer the question, ‘what can vegans drink?’ They are tons of energy drinks out there. And the good news is that some are certified vegan choices.
You could even get the real deal from among the popular ones you know. Grab an energy drink on days when you need to boost your energy.
There are wide varieties of energy drinks available on the market with many ingredients. Not all the ingredients are vegan, though. So, you should always check out the components to be sure that it’s a great vegan fit.
One of the most common ingredients in energy drinks that makes vegans wary is Taurine. Taurine is a form of amino acid primarily found in meat, eggs, and fish.
Hold on! Here is the catch. The Taurine used in almost all energy drinks is synthetic, i.e., it is not derived from animals, which makes them suitable for vegans.
Examples of energy drinks that answer the questions ” what do vegans drink?” are; Guru Organic Energy Drink, Kombucha Wonder Drink, Red Bull, Monster Energy Zero Ultra, And Rockstar Pure Zero.
These are just some of the popular vegan energy drinks out there. There are others, too. Always check the label to be sure when in doubt.
2. Vegan Soft Drinks
Who said you must give up your sweet tooth for soft drinks because you want to go vegan? Well, you don’t have to because there are lots of soft drinks out there that are vegan-friendly, trendy soft drinks at that.
Some soft drinks for vegans are Coca-Cola, Sprite, Fanta, Dr. Pepper, Pepsi, Pepsi Max, etc. Don’t forget, when in doubt, to check the label for ingredients.
Or better still, stick to product lines and brands you know don’t contain animal-based ingredients. Some of these drinks boldly specify their vegan status on their label.
3. Vegan Protein Drinks and Smoothies
‘What can vegans drink?’ Well, vegans can drink protein shakes and smoothies too. When it comes to proteins, they are so many plant-based proteins and great protein shakes that are totally vegan too.
They are tons of Vegan protein powders easily accessible in the grocery store, which you can mix with water, or any non-dairy milk to make yourself an amazing vegan protein shake.
For smoothies, they are lots of options, too, so long as you avoid dairy products.
Plant-based foods like vegetables, beans, lentils, grains, nuts, and seeds contain proteins, and any drink or smoothie made from these is an excellent vegan protein drink. Just make sure to check ingredients when in doubt.
Examples of protein shakes and smoothies are: Protein Hemp (Which comes From The Seeds Of The Cannabis Plant) Protein, Sacha Inchi (A Star-Shaped Nut), Pumpkin Seed Protein, Sunflower Seed Protein, Brown Rice Protein, Soy Protein, Chia Protein, And Plant Protein Blends Where Different Plant Proteins Are Mixed And Sold.
Chocolate Strawberry Smoothie, Strawberry Banana Smoothie, Green, Mango And Peach Smoothies, Strawberry Watermelon Smoothie,
4. Vegan Alcoholic Drinks
Vegan alcoholic beverage is one drink that answers the question, “what can vegans drink?” Not all alcoholic drinks are vegan because sometimes animal products may be used during processing or as ingredients in the drink itself.
Nevertheless, most such beverages are vegan. The increasing rise of the vegans cult has made many wineries replace animal products with synthetic or other substitutes to come up with a wine that is 100% vegan.
Examples of vegan alcoholic beverages are; Budweiser And Bud Light, Coors And Coors Light, Corona Extra And Corona Light, Michelob Ultra, Miller Genuine Draft And Miller High Life, Heineken, Pabst Blue Ribbon, Guinness Draught, and Guinness Original X.
5. Vegan Sports Drinks
We have been exploring many drink options to answer the question, “what can vegans drink?” One other drink choice for vegans is sports drinks. Sports drinks help athletes replace water, electrolytes, and energy after training or competition.
There are many options of vegan sports drinks to choose from. Examples are Oxygenerated Recovery, Ready Sports Drink, Electrolyte Blend, Guardian Athletic, Lyteline, NOOMA, Gatorade, G Organic, Rejoy, And Lots More.
The good news is that some sports drinks stamp themselves as vegans so that you can make the right decision. As we have always said, when in doubt, check the label.
You can always have a DIY home sports drink. The process is quite simple, and you don’t need much. To make one, add salt (serve as minerals) to your water (the water should be 1/2 of your container).
Add coconut water (1/4 of the container) to your mixture for electrolytes, and then add some fresh fruit juice(1/4 of your container). Here, you have your vegan sports drink. Totally homemade and pure vegan.
6. Vegan Cocktails
Who said a vegan couldn’t have fun with cocktails? There are tons of options for a vegan cocktail out there. So, vegans take cocktails. Yes! A cocktail is one answer to the “what can vegans drink?” question we have been trying to answer.
Be it an alcohol-based cocktail or a non-alcoholic cocktail. There is a vegan variation.
Examples of vegan cocktails are; Rum-based mojitos, Vegan White Russian, G & Fizz Prosecco Cocktail, Blood Orange Margarita, and Hibiscus Cherry Mocktail. Lemon Drop, Passion Fruit Cocktail. Cucumber Gin Martini and Fresh guava and watermelon mocktail.
There are other options too. You could even make your own cocktail at home. Ensure that the alcohol you use is vegan, as some alcoholic drinks contain animal products.
7. Vegan Hot Drinks
Nothing hits the taste bud and the body so well as a hot drink in the cold season. Thank goodness! Three of the most popular hot drinks are vegan. Name it __ hot chocolate, coffee, and tea.
Your choice of milk will determine if your hot drink will stay vegan. Good news! There are many plant-based milk options to liven your hot drinks.
Examples are; multigrain milk, oats milk, soymilk, almond milk, rice milk, and lots more. A vegan lifestyle isn’t a boring one.
No way! Still wondering, ‘what can vegans drink?’ There are many options to liven your day or complement your meal. Go ahead and explore your choice of vegan drink.